October 22, 2020:

I've learned only recently that Jameson had been a professor at UCSD at roughly the times I was first present there.

Indeed, he founded the Marxist Literary Group on that campus in 1969, five years ish before I squatted in the dorms, seven years before I was a student. But, far as I know, I had no encounter with his influence, as I certainly did with Marcuse's.

At that time in that milieu, "Marxism" meant Marcuse, while "Marxist literary criticism" meant either Marcuse or Lukács. I don't remember hearing the name "Jameson". Far as I recall, my first encounter with Jameson was his article on Postmodernism in the New Left Review a decade later, by which time he was at UC Santa Cruz. In the '80s I associated him solely with that campus.

This seemingly surprising lacuna is, I expect, an artifact of my go-where-it-leads introduction to reading. My self-education was unsystematic, so that, as is still the case today, it was full of holes. In fact, I believe the only reason I found a Marcusan residuum at UCSD was because, without being conversant with his books, his name was familiar. He was current in the mainstream zeitgeist, a cultural figure in or at least known to the media; I could have learned his name from the TV news. I knew of him, so that when his name turned up on campus I recognized it. Jameson by contrast has never had a similarly popular resonance. For all I know I may have conversed or lunched with his Marxist grad students a hundred times over those years. I would not have been able to recognize them.